The Iraq – Policy


System of Government Parliamentary
Form of Government Republic
Form of State Federal State
Politic System Multipartite
Independence October 3, 1932
Constitution Approved in a popular referendum on October 15, 2005
Units The Iraqi Federal Government consists of the Executive, Legislative and Judiciary. In addition to the Federal Government, there are regions with proper jurisdiction, such as Kurdistan

Executive: It comprises the President and the Cabinet. The President is elected by a Board of Representatives with a two-thirds majority, may exercise up to two terms of four years each. But the Council of Ministers consists of the Cabinet, formed by the party that has a majority in the Council of Representatives and the Prime Minister, chosen by the Cabinet. While the President asserts itself as Head of State, the Prime Minister set up as Head of Government of the Republic of Iraq.

Legislative: It consists of a Council of Representatives and the Federation Council. The Council of Representatives is made up of one representative for every 100,000 Iraqis, each elected for a term of four years. The Federation Council, which will be established as determined in Article 62 of the Iraqi Constitution, shall consist of representatives of regions and provinces.

Judiciary: It consists of the Superior Judiciary Council, the Supreme Court of Justice, the Court of Cassation, the Department of Public Prosecutions, the Supervisory Commission of the judiciary and other federal courts regulated by law.

Political Situation

In May 2003, after the fall of Saddam Hussein’s regime, started in 1979, settled in Iraq a provisional government under the tutelage of the United States. This government lasted until 2004, when an interim government was temporarily implemented in the country, and the Iraqi Ibrahim al-Jaafari as prime minister and Ghazi al-Yawar as president.

The first elections after the regime termination occurred on January 30, 2005, if afimando-historically as the first multiparty elections in 50 years. At the time, they chose 275 members of the National Assembly, whose main mission would be to debate and approve a new constitution, and choose a new government to replace the interim administration.

In this regard, the National Assembly, led by the United Iraqi Alliance, won the elections for the provisional Parliament subsequently elected Mr. Jalal Talabani as president and Mr. Nouri al-Maliki as prime minister.

Subsequently, on 15 October 2005, through a popular referendum, it was approved with 78% of the votes the new Constitution of the Republic of Iraq, describing the country as a democratic and federal state.

Also in December 2005, Iraqis were called to the polls again, this time to elect a definitive Parliament, for a term of four years. This election gave a majority of seats to the United Iraqi Alliance, which holds 128 of 275 seats.

Currently, the elected government faces the challenge of rebuilding a country devastated by more than ten years of general embargo and war decades. For this reason, the Iraqi government has directed efforts to raise funds for the country, carrying out economic reforms aimed at attracting investors from all over the world.

In 2011, President Barack Obama announced the withdrawal of US troops from Iraq. By the end of 2012, all troops had returned to the United States, staying in Iraq only men to ensure the safety of diplomatic missions. Iraq enters a new phase, in which the country is trying to prove to be able to guarantee democracy and the stability of its territory in a sovereign manner.